DERA ISMAIL KHAN: Four policemen were gunned down and three others including a Station House Officer (SHO) were injured, in an exchange of fire with unidentified armed assailantsin Dera Ismail Khan district of Khyber Pukhtunkhwa on Tuesday.

According to police sources, the firing incident took place in DI Khan’s Parua Tehsil in which three policemen embraced martyrdom.

The martyred policemen were identified as Constable Mirbaz, Sarfraz, Asif and driver Javed.

SHO Tahir Nawaz and two civilians sustained bullets in the process and have been shifted to a hospital.