JOHANNESBURG: Skipper Sarfraz Ahmed has admitted his mistake before match referee Ranjan Madugalle over his uncalled-for racist remarks in the second Durban ODI match.

The incident occurred in the 37th over of South Africa’s run-chase during the second ODI at Kingsmead in Durban when Phehlukwayo got an inside edge off a Shaheen Shah Afridi delivery that narrowly missed the stumps.

The next morning, Madhugalle summoned Sarfraz Ahmed in the hotel before leaving Durban, where he accepted his mistake, apologized and felt embarrassed for the words he uttered. He also expressed that he did not intend to say anything racist.

According to ICCs code of conduct, Sarfraz Ahmed can be banned for three to five One Day Internationals.

Sources have said that disciplinary action against the skipper is expected to be announced by the International Cricket Council in coming hours.

LEAVE A REPLY