Web Desk: On Sunday, various political leaders and prime minister of Pakistan Imran Khan cast their votes in by-elections being held all over Pakistan (today).

Prime Minister of Pakistan, Imran Khan cast his vote in Islamabad NA- 53, according to media reports.

Veteran leader of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and former- railway minister Khawaja Saad Rafique voted in Lahores NA-131, from where he is also contesting the by-election against newly joint Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insafs (PTI) Humayun Akhtar.

In Karachi, Pak Sarzameen Party Chairman Mustafa Kamal cast his vote at polling station 74 in Gulshan-e-Iqbal, NA-243 constituency. Muttahida Qaumi Movement leader Amir Chishti, who is also contesting the polls, also cast his ballot in polling station 111 of the constituency.

Famous by his social media stunts against the Sindh government— Fixt Alamgeer Khan, who is also contesting by-election from NA-243 also cast his vote in Karachi.

Moreover, Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid leader Moonis Elahi along with his father and Punjab Assembly speaker Chaudhry Pervez Elahi voted in NA-69 at a government school in Gujrat.

By-elections for 35 general seats which were left vacated by winning candidates are being held today(Sunday), countrywide.

The polling started at 8:00 AM.

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan 9.9 million ballot papers have been dispatched to the polling stations under tight security of army personnel.

Prime Minister Imran Khan vacated four seats, especially National Assembly’s constituency 131(Lahore) will be observed closely as the margin of defeat was only 600 hundred.

Karachi NA 243 is closely watched contest between MQM(P) and PTI, the same seat where PM Imran easily won the contest in July 25 general elections.

Pakistan Muslim League (nawaz) candidate Saad Rafique has been fielded against newly joint Humayun Akhtar into Pakistan Tehreek -e-Insaf (PTI) camp for NA-131 battle.

It is pertinent to mention that for the fist time the overseas Pakistanis are casting their vote.

Over five million registered voters about 2.3 million women and almost 2.7 million men will exercise their right to vote. It is noteworthy that the overseas Pakistanis will be voting for the first time in the by-polls.

Seats up for grabs comprise 11 from National Assembly, 11 from Punjab Assembly, nine from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, and two each from Sindh and Balochistan.

The vote timing will end at 5:00 Pm.