ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Wednesday announced its verdict against removal of former prime minister Nawaz Sharif’s name from the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) after his disqualification.

The ECP had reserved its judgement on the petition on Tuesday.

Four different petitions requesting orders from the Election Commission of Pakistan for the cancellation of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s registration were earlier submitted to the electoral body as its is named after a disqualified politician.

The petitions, filed by Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) leader Khurram Nawaz Gandapur, Abrar Hussain Raza, and two others, were unanimously rejected.