Islamabad: National Assembly has elected Asad Qaiser as their Speaker while the Deputy Speaker will be elected after 15 minutes of break.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) nominated Asad Qaiser as their candidate for Speaker and for Deputy Speaker they nominated Qasim Suri.

Joint-Opposition announced Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP’s) Syed Khursheed Shah as the candidate for speaker while Asad Mehmood of Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA).

Asad Qaiser stood first by claiming 176 votes while Syed Khursheed Shah taken 146 votes out of casted 330 votes out of which 8 were cancelled.

Outgoing Speaker Ayaz Sadiq presided the session and took oath from the next Speaker, opposition started chanting slogans as outgoing Speaker Ayaz Sadiq suspended the session for 15 minutes.

On the other hand Qasim Khan Suri has been elected as National Assembly Deputy Speaker.

Qasim Khan Suri secured 183 votes while his opponent Maulana Asad Mehmood could only obtain 144 votes. One vote was rejected.

The house to elect the prime minister on August, 17 as per the schedule released by NA speaker.

The session has been postponed till August 17, 3:00pm.