ISLAMABAD: The National Electric Power Regulatory Authority (NEPRA) on Tuesday approved an increase of Rs0.55 per unit in the electricity tariff for all power distribution companies, except for K-Electric users and agricultural users.

The distribution companies include Faisalabad, Gujranwala, Hyderabad, Islamabad, Lahore, Multan, Peshawar, Quetta, Sukkur and tribal areas electricity supplying companies.

Earlier on May 21, NEPRA had proposed a hike in the prices of electricity tariffs by 57paisas per unit.

According to details, NEPRA has proposed a hike in the electricity tariffs to the Central Power Purchasing Agency (CPPA) by 57paisas per unit under fuel adjustment for the month of April.